

City of Richmond

900 East Broad Street 2nd Floor of City Hall Richmond, VA 23219 www.rva.gov

Legislation Text

File #: RES. 2022-R057, Version: 1

To provide for the nomination of Andreas D. Addison, Ellen F. Robertson, and J. E. Lincoln Saunders as the City of Richmond's three Directors and the election of the Board of Directors of the Greater Richmond Transit Company for the period commencing upon election and qualification of these nominees as Directors and terminating on the date of the 2023 annual meeting of shareholders upon the election and qualification of the successors to these Directors.

WHEREAS, the City of Richmond and the County of Chesterfield each own one-half of all outstanding shares of the common stock of Greater Richmond Transit Company; and

WHEREAS, the City of Richmond has the right to nominate three citizens of the City of Richmond as Directors of the Greater Richmond Transit Company and the obligation to vote its shares of common stock for these three nominees, the three nominees of the County of Chesterfield, and the three nominees of the County of Henrico; and

WHEREAS, the County of Chesterfield and the County of Henrico have nominated their nominees to serve on the Board of Directors during the current year, and an annual meeting of shareholders has been scheduled for the purpose of electing the nine nominees to the Board of Directors; and

WHEREAS, the Council of the City of Richmond as the governing body of the City is the holder of the common stock issued to the City of Richmond and is entitled to appoint and nominate the City of Richmond's three Directors of the Greater Richmond Transit Company and to vote its shares of stock for its three nominees, the three nominees of the County of Chesterfield, and the three nominees of the County of Henrico; and

WHEREAS, the Council of the City of Richmond desires to nominate Andreas D. Addison, Ellen F. Robertson, and J. E. Lincoln Saunders to serve as Directors of the Greater Richmond Transit Company;

NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF RICHMOND:

File #: RES. 2022-R057, Version: 1

That Andreas D. Addison, Ellen F. Robertson, and J. E. Lincoln Saunders are hereby appointed and nominated to serve as members of the Board of Directors of the Greater Richmond Transit Company.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED:

That the President of the Council, Cynthia I. Newbille, or her designee, for and on behalf of the City of Richmond, is hereby authorized to vote each of the five shares of common stock of the Greater Richmond Transit Company issued to the City of Richmond and to take such other steps as may be requisite to effectuate the election of the hereinafter named persons as members of the Board of Directors of the Greater Richmond Transit Company for a period commencing upon the election and qualification of these nominees as Directors and continuing through the date of the 2023 annual meeting of stockholders and the election and qualification of the successors to these Directors:

Andreas D. Addison, Ellen F. Robertson, and J. E. Lincoln Saunders, the three nominees of the County of Chesterfield, and the three nominees of the County of Henrico.