

## City of Richmond

900 East Broad Street 2nd Floor of City Hall Richmond, VA 23219 www.rva.gov

## Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: RES. 2021-

R069

Resolution

Name:

Status: Adopted

9/14/2021 In control: City Council

**On agenda**: 9/27/2021 **Final action**: 9/27/2021

Version: 1

Title: To provide for the nomination of George P. Braxton, Benjamin P. Campbell, and Eldridge Forest Coles

as the City of Richmond's three Directors and the election of the Board of Directors of the Greater Richmond Transit Company for the period commencing upon election and qualification of these nominees as Directors and terminating on the date of the 2022 annual meeting of shareholders upon

the election and qualification of the successors to these Directors.

**Sponsors:** Cynthia Newbille, Vice President Robertson, Andreas Addison, Katherine Jordan, Ann-Frances

Lambert, Kristen Nye, Stephanie Lynch, Reva Trammell, Michael Jones

Indexes:

Type:

File created:

Code sections:

**Attachments:** 1. Res. No. 2021-R069

Date	Ver.	Action By	Action	Result
9/27/2021	1	City Council	adopted	Pass
9/21/2021	1	Land Use, Housing and Transportation Standing Committee	recommended for approval	
9/13/2021	1	City Council	introduced and referred	

To provide for the nomination of George P. Braxton, Benjamin P. Campbell, and Eldridge Forest Coles as the City of Richmond's three Directors and the election of the Board of Directors of the Greater Richmond Transit Company for the period commencing upon election and qualification of these nominees as Directors and terminating on the date of the 2022 annual meeting of shareholders upon the election and qualification of the successors to these Directors.

WHEREAS, the City of Richmond and the County of Chesterfield each own one-half of all outstanding shares of the common stock of Greater Richmond Transit Company; and

WHEREAS, the City of Richmond has the right to nominate three citizens of the City of Richmond as Directors of the Greater Richmond Transit Company and the obligation to vote its shares of common stock for these three nominees and the three nominees of the County of Chesterfield; and

WHEREAS, the County of Chesterfield has nominated its three citizens to serve on the Board of Directors during the current year and desires to have a meeting of shareholders for the purpose of electing its three nominees to the Board of Directors; and

File #: RES. 2021-R069, Version: 1

WHEREAS, the Council of the City of Richmond as the governing body of the City is the holder of the common stock issued to the City of Richmond and is entitled to nominate the City of Richmond's three Directors of the Greater Richmond Transit Company and to vote its shares of stock for its three nominees and the three nominees of the County of Chesterfield; and

WHEREAS, the Council of the City of Richmond desires to nominate George P. Braxton, Benjamin P. Campbell, and Eldridge Forest Coles to serve as Directors of the Greater Richmond Transit Company;

NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF RICHMOND:

That George P. Braxton, Benjamin P. Campbell, and Eldridge Forest Coles are hereby nominated to serve as members of the Board of Directors of the Greater Richmond Transit Company.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED:

That Andreas D. Addison, Chair of the Land Use, Housing and Transportation Standing Committee of the City

Council, or his designee, for and on behalf of the City of Richmond, is hereby authorized to vote each of the five shares
of common stock of the Greater Richmond Transit Company issued to the City of Richmond and to take such other steps
as may be requisite to effectuate the election of the hereinafter named persons as members of the Board of Directors of
the Greater Richmond Transit Company for a period commencing upon the election and qualification of these nominees
as Directors and continuing through the date of the 2022 annual meeting of stockholders and the election and
qualification of the successors to these Directors: George P. Braxton, Benjamin P. Campbell, and Eldridge Forest Coles
and the three nominees of the County of Chesterfield.