

City of Richmond

Special Meeting Minutes

Tuesday, January 3, 2023 4:00 PM Council Chamber, 2nd Floor - City Hal	Tuesday, January 3, 2023	4:00 PM	Council Chamber, 2nd Floor - City Hall
--	--------------------------	---------	--

The Council of the City of Richmond met for an organizational meeting pursuant to Section 4.03 of the Richmond City Charter.

Councilmembers Present

The Honorable Andreas Addison The Honorable Michael Jones The Honorable Katherine Jordan The Honorable Ann-Frances Lambert The Honorable Cynthia Newbille The Honorable Kristen Nye The Honorable Stephanie Lynch The Honorable Ellen Robertson The Honorable Reva Trammell

Call to Order

City Clerk Candice Reid called the meeting to order at 4:04 p.m. and presided.

Chamber Emergency Evacuation Plan Announcement and Citizen Speaker Guidelines

Upon the City Clerk's request, Deputy City Clerk RJ Warren provided information on the appropriate manner in which the Council Chamber is to be evacuated in the event of an emergency along with citizen speaker guidelines.

Election of the Council President

City Clerk Candice Reid opened the floor for nominations to fill the City Council President seat.

Councilor Kristen Nye nominated 9th District Councilor Michael Jones for President of City Council.

City Clerk Reid asked if there were additional nominations. Hearing none, Ms. Reid announced that the floor was closed for nominations for Council President.

The nomination was unanimously approved.

City Clerk Reid declared Michael Jones Council President for a term of two years ending December 31, 2024.

President Jones presided for the remainder of the meeting.

President Jones stated his appreciation to his colleagues, and he informed members that he looked forward to serving both Council and the city as Council President.

Election of the Council Vice President

President Michael Jones opened the floor for nominations to fill the City Council Vice President seat.

Councilor Stephanie Lynch nominated 4th District Councilor Kristen Nye for Vice President of City Council.

President Jones asked if there were additional nominations. Hearing none, President Jones announced that the floor was closed for nominations for Council Vice President.

The nomination was unanimously approved.

City Clerk Reid declared Kristen Nye Council Vice President for a term of two years ending December 31, 2024.

Vice President Kristen Nye stated that she looked forward to working with colleagues and city administration to address the needs of the city.

President Jones invited former Council President Cynthia Newbille and former Council Vice President Ellen Robertson to provide comment.

Councilor Cynthia Newbille stated that it was her honor to serve as Council President, and she thanked her colleagues for their support during her term as Council President.

Councilor Ellen Robertson stated that it was a privilege to serve as Council Vice President and to support former Council President Cynthia Newbille.

Paper for Expedited Consideration

Councilor Ann-Frances Lambert moved to expedite consideration of the following resolution, which was seconded and unanimously approved:

RES.To amend Res. No. 2021-R004, adopted Jan. 4, 2021, as previously
amended by Res. No. 2021-R007, adopted Jan. 11, 2021, and Res.
No. 2022-R021, adopted Mar. 28, 2022, which designates which
Council members shall serve on the Council's Standing Committees
and the various boards, commissions, and other collegial bodies on
which Council members serve, for the purpose of modifying the
assignments of Council members to such Standing Committees,
boards, commissions, and other collegial bodies.

Patrons: President Jones

Councilor Ann-Frances Lambert stated her appreciation for the standing committee assignments referenced in RES. 2023-R001.

There were no further comments or discussions and RES. 2023-R001 was unanimously adopted.

Adjournment

There being no further business before the Council, the meeting adjourned at 4:24 p.m.

CITY CLERK