

# **City of Richmond**

## **Special Meeting Minutes**

Tuesday, September 6, 2022	5:00 PM	Council Chamber, 2nd Floor - City Hall
Special Meeting		

#### **Councilmembers Present**

The Honorable Cynthia Newbille, President The Honorable Ellen Robertson, Vice President (late arrival) The Honorable Andreas Addison The Honorable Michael Jones The Honorable Katherine Jordan The Honorable Stephanie Lynch The Honorable Kristen Nye The Honorable Reva Trammell

#### Absent

The Honorable Ann-Frances Lambert

#### Call to Order

Council President Cynthia Newbille called the meeting to order at 5:03 p.m., and presided.

#### Chamber Emergency Evacuation Plan Announcement and Citizen Speaker Guidelines

Upon the President's request, Deputy City Clerk RJ Warren provided information on the appropriate manner in which the Council Chamber is to be evacuated in the event of an emergency along with citizen speaker guidelines.

President Cynthia Newbille requested a moment of silence in memory of Assistant City Clerk Debra Bowles.

### Papers for Consideration

The following ordinances were considered:

1.ORD.To amend and reordain City Code § 9-58, which assigns polling places2022-186in the city, to relocate the polling place for Precinct 215.

<u>Patrons:</u> Jordan

2.ORD.<br/>2022-187To amend and reordain City Code § 9-58, which assigns polling places<br/>in the city, to relocate the polling place for Precinct 410.

<u>Patrons:</u> Nye

**3.** ORD. 2022-188 To amend and reordain City Code § 9-2, which designates the location for the central absentee voter election district in the city, to relocate and establish a new polling place for the central absentee voter election district.

<u>Patrons:</u> Jordan

Councilor Kristen Nye provided an introduction and additional background information regarding ORD. 2022-187.

Vice President Ellen Robertson arrived and was seated at 5:07 p.m.

There were no further comments or discussions and ORD. 2022-186, ORD. 2022-187, and ORD. 2022-188 were adopted: Ayes 8, Addison, Jordan, Nye, Lynch, Trammell, Jones, Robertson, Newbille. Noes None.

#### Adjournment

There being no further business before the Council, the meeting adjourned at 5:08 p.m.

CITY CLERK